Nairobi was founded in 1899 just as a simple rail depot between Mombasa, Kenya, and Uganda railway.  It is the capital and largest urban hub of Kenya. The name “Nairobi” originates from a Maasai phrase Enkare Nairobi, which means “cold water“. The Maasai name of the Nairobi river, which flows through the suburbs and across the business district  and in turn lent its name to the city – Nairobi – also popularly known as the “Green City in the Sun”.

By 1907, Nairobi quickly expanded to become the capital of British East Africa and eventually the economic hub – capital of republic of Kenya in 1963.  Nairobi is also the headquarters of the Nairobi County – former province.

The green city in the sun is the populous city in region, with a current approximated population of over 3 million. According to the 2009 Census, in the administrative area of Nairobi, 3,138,295 inhabitants lived within 696 km2 (269 sq miles). Continent-wise, according to United Nations World Urbanization Prospects report, Nairobi is ranked the twelfth [12th] largest city in Africa.

Nairobi – the city is an established hub for business, transport, education, culture among others. Nairobi plays hosts to thousands of Kenyan businesses and over hundred major international organisations, including the United Nations Environment Programme by 1972 and the main coordinating and headquarters for the UN in Africa & Middle East, the United Nations Office in Nairobi.

Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: